Your city's app

Upcoming Elections in Chhattisgarh 


The Chhattisgarh state was formed in 2000 by carving out the eastern part of Madhya Pradesh. The Chief Minister of the state is elected through assembly elections. The Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly consists of 90 seats. Elections are held in all these 90 constituencies to elect an MLA (MLA), whose leader becomes the chief minister of the political party that wins the most seats. The last assembly elections in Chhattisgarh were held in the year 2018. After the completion of the five years of assembly elections, the assembly elections will be held again in 2023. The Present Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh is Bhupesh Baghel.


Chhattisgarh 2018 Legislative Election Result


Political partySeat Won
Indian National Congress68
Bharatiya Janata Party15
Janata Congress Chhattisgarh5
Bahujan samaj party2


Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel


Chhattisgarh Facts


Chief MinisterBhupesh Baghel
Lok Sabha11 seats
Rajya Sabha5 seat
Assembly90 seats
Chhattisgarh region135,192 sq km
Chhattisgarh population2,94,36,231* (as per 2011 census)
Major languagesHindi


Chhattisgarh State Legislative Assembly

Chhattisgarh, situated in central India, is a state that operates under a unicameral legislature. The Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly holds the responsibility of formulating laws and regulations for the state. Comprising 90 members, the Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly is elected to serve a five-year term. Additionally, a provision exists for the nomination of a member from the Anglo-Indian community within the state. Chhattisgarh encompasses a total of 28 districts, with the number of constituencies in each district varying based on population. For instance, Raipur district boasts the highest number of 12 constituencies, while Bijapur district has a solitary constituency.


History of Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly


The formation of the Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly took place on 1st November 2000. The inaugural elections occurred in November 2003, resulting in the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerging as the largest party, securing 50 out of 90 assembly seats. The Indian National Congress (INC) won 37 seats, while the remaining seats were divided among smaller parties and independent candidates. In the subsequent elections held in December 2008, the BJP once again maintained its hold on power, securing 50 seats, while the Congress won 38 seats. Moving to the 2013 assembly elections, the Congress won 39 seats, and the BJP won 49, with Raman Singh assuming the position of Chief Minister. The most recent assembly elections in Chhattisgarh took place in November 2018, resulting in the Congress party successfully overthrowing the BJP by winning 68 seats, reducing the BJP's tally to 15. Presently, Bhupesh Baghel serves as the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh.


List of the 90 seats of Legislative Assembly of Chhattisgarh


KhallariMahasamundBilaigarhKasdolBaloda Bazar
BhataparaDharsiwaRaipur City GraminRaipur City WestRaipur City North
Raipur City SouthArangAbhanpurRajimBindrawagarh
SihawaKurudDhamtariSanjari BalodDaundi Lohara
GunderdehiPatanDurg GraminDurg CityBhilai Nagar
Vaishali NagarAhiwaraBemetaraNavagarhPandariya

Previous Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly election


The Chhattisgarh Assembly election held in 2018 witnessed a significant political shift in the state's landscape. The two major political parties, the Indian National Congress (INC) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), locked horns in the battle for supremacy. The BJP, led by Chief Minister Raman Singh, sought to retain power after its consecutive victories in the previous elections, while the Congress, under the leadership of Bhupesh Baghel, aimed to regain control of the state. The key issues that dominated the election discourse included agrarian distress, unemployment, healthcare, and infrastructure development.

In the results, The Congress party emerged triumphant, securing a resounding victory by winning 68 out of the 90 assembly seats. This overwhelming mandate handed the Congress party a decisive majority, enabling them to form the government in the state. On the other hand, the BJP's tally dwindled to a mere 15 seats, marking a significant setback for the party that had held power for the past 15 years. The outcome of the 2018 Chhattisgarh Assembly election had far-reaching implications for the state's political landscape. The Congress party, buoyed by their significant victory, assumed power and Bhupesh Baghel was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh. The 2018 Chhattisgarh Assembly election will be remembered as a defining moment in the state's political history. The resounding victory of the Congress party and the subsequent change in leadership heralded a new era in Chhattisgarh's governance. The election demonstrated the power of democratic processes and the ability of voters to shape the course of their state's future. 


Upcoming Elections: More Articles