Your city's app

Upcoming Elections in Madhya Pradesh


Madhya Pradesh, known as the "heart of India," is set to become a focal point in the upcoming elections in the country. The Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly plays a vital role in shaping the state's governance. Comprising 230 members, the assembly is responsible for enacting laws, representing the interests of the people, and overseeing the functioning of the government. Every five years, Madhya Pradesh holds elections to elect representatives to this pivotal assembly. The next election in Madhya Pradesh can be held in 2023. Madhya Pradesh is home to a diverse political landscape, with several prominent parties vying for dominance. The two primary contenders are the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Indian National Congress (INC). These parties have historically held significant influence in the state's politics and have played a crucial role in shaping Madhya Pradesh's destiny.


Madhya Pradesh Previous Legislative Assembly Election Results 2018


AlliancePolitical partyContested seatWon
NDABharatiya Janata Party376255
Apna Dal1712
Nishad Party106
Samajwadi Party AllianceSamajwadi Party347111
Rashtriya Lok Dal338
Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party196
Apna Dal Camerawadi60
Nationalist Congress Party10
UPABahujan samaj party4031
Indian National Congress3992
bpmAll India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen940
Aam Aadmi Party3490
no allianceJansatta Dal (Democratic)162
Communist Party of India350
Shiv Sena360




Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan


Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly


The Madhya Pradesh State Legislative Assembly stands as a cornerstone of democratic governance in the state. The Madhya Pradesh State Legislative Assembly, also known as the Vidhan Sabha, is the primary legislative body responsible for enacting laws and overseeing the functioning of the government in Madhya Pradesh. Currently, the assembly consists of 230 elected MLAs who represent the various constituencies within the state. The assembly members strive to address the concerns and aspirations of their constituents while representing their respective parties. Elections to the Madhya Pradesh State Legislative Assembly are held every five years, allowing citizens to exercise their democratic right to choose their representatives. The Madhya Pradesh State Legislative Assembly serves as the embodiment of democratic values and principles in the state. With 230 MLAs representing diverse constituencies, it acts as a platform for debate, legislation, and decision-making that shapes the future of Madhya Pradesh. The state's districts contribute to its cultural, social, and economic fabric, reflecting the diversity and aspirations of its people. The Madhya Pradesh State Legislative Assembly remains a vital institution that upholds democratic values and ensures the collective development of the state and its districts.


History of Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly


The Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly elections have played a pivotal role in shaping the political landscape of the central Indian state. The first legislative assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh took place in 1957. The Indian National Congress (INC) emerged as the dominant party and formed the government, with Ravishankar Shukla becoming the first Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh. The 1990s witnessed significant political shifts in Madhya Pradesh. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) began to gain prominence, challenging the Congress's long-standing dominance. The Ram Janmabhoomi movement and the implementation of Mandal Commission recommendations also had a profound impact on the state's politics. In 1990, Sunderlal Patwa of the BJP became the first non-Congress Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, albeit for a brief period. This marked the beginning of a new era of competitive politics in the state. Digvijaya Singh, a prominent Congress leader, served as the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh for three consecutive terms from 1993 to 2003. The 2003 elections brought about a decisive change in Madhya Pradesh's political scenario. The BJP, led by Uma Bharti, secured a resounding victory, ending the Congress' long reign. Bharti's tenure as Chief Minister, however, was short-lived, and she was succeeded by Babulal Gaur. In 2005, Shivraj Singh Chouhan took over as the Chief Minister and went on to become one of the longest-serving Chief Ministers in the state's history. Chouhan's focus on agriculture, rural development, and infrastructure development earned him popularity and helped the BJP consolidate its position in the state. The 2018 assembly elections witnessed a fierce contest between the BJP and the Congress. Despite a spirited campaign by the Congress, led by Kamal Nath, the BJP emerged as the single largest party. However, the Congress formed a coalition government with the support of smaller parties, and Kamal Nath became the Chief Minister. However, the coalition government's tenure was short-lived, as the BJP swept the 2020 by-elections, leading to Shivraj Singh Chouhan returning as Chief Minister. 


Previous Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly Election


The results of the 2013 Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly election were declared on 8 December 2013. The BJP defeated the Congress thrice in a row. The Congress suffered a major defeat in the state, winning only 58 of the 230 assembly seats in the Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly. BJP emerged victorious in 165 out of the 230 assembly constituencies, with the remaining seats being secured by 7 different political parties. BJP Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan registered a hat-trick by being elected the Chief Minister of the state for the third consecutive time. In the 2018 election, the BJP and Congress engaged in a closely contested battle. The Congress won 114 seats, just two seats shy of a majority. To prevent the BJP from gaining power, the BSP and SP, who secured 2 and 1 seat respectively, extended their support to the Congress. Consequently, Kamal Nath assumed the role of Chief Minister. However, the Congress faced a setback when Jyotiraditya Scindia and several MLAs defected from the party, leading to the downfall of Kamal Nath's government. In 2020, Shivraj Singh once again took the oath as Chief Minister.

Upcoming Elections: More Articles