Your city's app

Upcoming Election in Punjab


Punjab, located in the northwest of India, has long been known for its rich cultural heritage, agricultural prowess, and dynamic political landscape. The Punjab Legislative Assembly, the highest legislative body in the state, comprises elected representatives from various constituencies. While the exact date of the next election in Punjab may vary, state assembly elections typically take place every five years, as per constitutional provisions. The Punjab Legislative Assembly holds a crucial position in the governance and legislation of the state. It consists of 117 elected representatives known as Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs).

The Indian National Congress (INC), Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) are some of the major players in the state's political arena. The Punjab Legislative Assembly plays a pivotal role in shaping the governance and policy direction of the state. The assembly members engage in debates, discussions, and voting to deliberate on issues, propose legislation, and scrutinize the functioning of the government. Punjab's electorate has showcased active engagement and participation in past elections, reflecting their commitment to the democratic process. 


Punjab 2022 Legislative Election Result

AlliancePartySeats ContestedSeats Won
NoneAam Aadmi Party11792
UPAIndian National Congress11718
SAD+Shiromani Akali Dal973
Bahujan Samaj Party201
NDABharatiya Janata Party732
Punjab Lok Congress280
Shiromani Akali Dal (Sanyukt)150
NoneShiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar)150
Communist Party of India (Marxist)140
Communist Party of India70



Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann


Punjab State Legislative Assembly

The Punjab State Legislative Assembly stands as a stronghold of democratic governance, representing the aspirations and interests of the people of Punjab. This legislative body plays a vital role in formulating laws, deliberating policies, and ensuring effective governance in the state. 

The Punjab State Legislative Assembly serves as the supreme legislative body in the state, responsible for enacting laws and overseeing governance. It comprises 117 elected representatives known as Members of Legislative Assembly or MLAs. Punjab is divided into multiple districts with its distinct characteristics and demographics. These districts include Amritsar, Ludhiana, Jalandhar, Patiala, Bathinda, Ferozepur, and others. The dates for next elections in Punjab are determined by the Election Commission of India. These elections are typically held every five years, as per constitutional provisions. It can be held on 2027. The Punjab State Legislative Assembly, with its elected MLAs, serves as the bedrock of democratic governance in the state. 


History of Punjab State Legislative Assembly

The first legislative assembly elections in Punjab took place in 1952 after the reorganization of states along linguistic lines. The Indian National Congress (INC) dominated the political scene during this period, led by prominent leaders such as Partap Singh Kairon and Giani Gurmukh Singh Musafir. The Congress secured a majority in the initial elections and continued to hold power for several years.

In the 1967 elections, the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), a party representing the interests of the Sikh community, emerged as a significant force, forming a coalition government with Jan Sangh (predecessor of the Bharatiya Janata Party). This marked the beginning of a multi-party system in Punjab, challenging the Congress's dominance.

The 1970s and 1980s witnessed a period of political instability in Punjab. The Akali Dal led a series of agitations demanding greater autonomy for the state and the protection of Sikh interests. The demand for a separate Sikh-majority state of Khalistan gained traction, resulting in a violent period of militancy and insurgency. The state government was dismissed, and Punjab came under President's Rule.
In the aftermath of the insurgency, Punjab witnessed a gradual return to stability and the restoration of democratic processes. The Congress regained power in the 1992 elections under the leadership of Beant Singh. However, tragedy struck when Beant Singh was assassinated in 1995. The state then witnessed a period of political fragmentation, with several parties vying for power.
The late 1990s and early 2000s witnessed the rise of coalition politics in Punjab. The SAD-BJP alliance emerged as a formidable force, forming governments in the state. Parkash Singh Badal became one of the longest-serving Chief Ministers of Punjab, serving multiple terms. The Congress also witnessed periods of resurgence, forming coalition governments with smaller parties.
In the most recent assembly elections held in 2017, the Congress, under the leadership of Captain Amarinder Singh, secured a landslide victory, winning 77 out of 117 seats. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), a relatively new entrant in Punjab's political arena, emerged as the principal opposition party, winning 20 seats.
As Punjab gears up for the next legislative assembly elections, scheduled to be held in 2022, the political landscape appears to be dynamic and unpredictable. The major parties, including the Congress, SAD, and AAP, are actively preparing for the electoral battle, while new players may also make their presence felt.

Upcoming Elections: More Articles