Your city's app

Upcoming Election in Maharashtra


Maharashtra, the land of diverse cultures, bustling cities, and serene landscapes, holds immense significance in India's political landscape. As one of the largest states in the country, Maharashtra boasts a rich history and a vibrant democracy. The Maharashtra Legislative Assembly has 228 representatives known as Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs). The Maharashtra Legislative Assembly represents the diverse population of the state through its MLAs. Elections in Maharashtra are a grand celebration of democracy, with citizens exercising their voting rights to elect their representatives. The next Maharashtra Legislative Assembly election is scheduled to take place in 2024. The exact date will be determined by the Election Commission of India following the electoral schedule. 

Maharashtra's political landscape is vibrant and diverse, with several prominent parties playing a crucial role. The major political parties in the state include the Indian National Congress (INC), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Shiv Sena, and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). These parties have historically engaged in fierce electoral battles, forming alliances and shaping the political narrative in Maharashtra.


Maharashtra 2019 Legislative Election Result

PartySeats ContestedSeats Won
Bharatiya Janata Party164105
Shiv Sena12656
Nationalist Congress Party12154
Indian National Congress14744
Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi313
All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen442
Samajwadi Party72
Prahar Janshakti Party262
Communist Party of India (Marxist)81
Maharashtra Navnirman Sena1011
Peasants and Workers Party of India241
Swabhimani Paksha51
Jan Surajya Shakti41
Krantikari Shetkari Party11
Rashtriya Samaj Paksha61
Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi2360


Maharashtra State Legislative Assembly

The Maharashtra State Legislative Assembly is the primary legislative body of the state. It is responsible for enacting laws, discussing policies, and representing the interests of the people at the state level. Maharashtra is divided into 36 districts, each with multiple constituencies. These districts encompass a wide range of geographical, cultural, and socio-economic diversity, reflecting the essence of Maharashtra. The Maharashtra State Legislative Assembly has 228 elected representatives known as Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs). The MLAs hold significant responsibilities within the Maharashtra State Legislative Assembly. The MLAs serve as the link between the citizens and the legislative process.


History of Maharashtra Legislative Assembly


The Maharashtra Legislative Assembly is one of the key governing bodies in India's political landscape. As the second-most populous state in the country and a powerhouse of industrial and cultural significance, Maharashtra has witnessed several intriguing electoral battles throughout its history. The Maharashtra Legislative Assembly came into existence on May 1, 1960. The state of Bombay was bifurcated, and the new states of Maharashtra and Gujarat were formed. The first assembly election in Maharashtra was held in 1962, marking a crucial step in the state's political journey. Over the years, several political parties have played significant roles in Maharashtra's electoral landscape. The Indian National Congress (INC) dominated the early years of the state's politics, securing a majority in the assembly for consecutive terms. However, the emergence of the Shiv Sena and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the 1980s challenged the Congress's dominance. The 1995 Maharashtra Legislative Assembly elections witnessed a significant shift in power dynamics. 

The Shiv Sena-BJP alliance secured a majority, forming the state government for the first time. Manohar Joshi became the first non-Congress Chief Minister of Maharashtra, marking a turning point in the state's political history. In the subsequent years, the Indian National Congress made a comeback, winning the 1999 elections and forming the government with Vilasrao Deshmukh as the Chief Minister. However, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) split from the Congress in 1999 under the leadership of Sharad Pawar. This led to a new political dynamic in the state. The early 2000s witnessed the formation of coalition governments in Maharashtra. The Congress and NCP joined hands to form governments. Meanwhile, the BJP continued to strengthen its presence in the state, particularly in urban areas. In 2014, the BJP emerged as the single-largest party and formed a coalition government with the Shiv Sena.


Previous Legislative Assembly Election in Maharashtra


The 2019 Maharashtra Legislative Assembly Elections were held amid great anticipation and speculation, with multiple parties vying for power in the state. The key contenders in the 2019 Maharashtra Assembly Elections were the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Shiv Sena, Indian National Congress (INC), and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). The BJP and Shiv Sena contested the elections together as an alliance, while the Congress and NCP formed a coalition. The BJP-Shiv Sena alliance campaigned on the development agenda, emphasizing the Modi government's achievements at the national level. The coalition highlighted issues such as unemployment, farmer distress, and the overall economic slowdown. The BJP-Shiv Sena alliance also sought to project a strong and stable image of leadership in the state. The results of the 2019 Maharashtra Assembly Elections were announced on October 24, 2019. The BJP-Shiv Sena alliance emerged as the single-largest bloc, securing a combined tally of 161 seats in the 288-member assembly. The BJP won 105 seats, while the Shiv Sena secured 56 seats. The Congress-NCP coalition won a total of 98 seats, with the Congress winning 44 and NCP securing 54. Following the results, the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance seemed set to form the government, with Devendra Fadnavis as the Chief Minister. However, a disagreement over the sharing of power and the Chief Ministerial post led to a stalemate. Eventually, the Shiv Sena broke away from the alliance and formed a coalition government with the Congress and NCP under the leadership of Uddhav Thackeray as the Chief Minister.

The outcome of the Maharashtra Assembly Elections had significant implications for national politics, as it was the first major electoral setback for the BJP since the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections. The Shiv Sena's decision to break away from the alliance and join hands with the Congress-NCP was seen as a significant shift in the state's political landscape. It also highlighted the growing challenge to the BJP's hegemony in various parts of the country.


Upcoming Elections: More Articles