Your city's app

Upcoming Elections in Delhi


Delhi, the capital of India, holds a unique position as a political, cultural, and economic hub. Delhi is a union territory with a special status, holds its own Legislative Assembly elections to elect representatives who will shape the state's governance. The Delhi Legislative Assembly is the primary legislative body governing the state. It comprises elected representatives called Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs). The next election date for the Delhi Legislative Assembly is determined by the Election Commission of India. It could be on 2025. The political landscape in Delhi is dynamic, with several key parties vying for power. The prominent political parties that have a strong presence in Delhi include the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and Indian National Congress (INC). These parties engage in extensive campaigns, highlighting their agendas and visions for the state's development. 


Delhi 2020 Legislative Election Result

PartySeats ContestedSeats Won
Aam Aadmi Party7062
Bharatiya Janata Party (NDA)678
Indian National Congress (UPA)660
Janata Dal (United) (NDA)20
Bahujan Samaj Party700
Lok Janshakti Party (NDA)10
Rashtriya Janata Dal (UPA)40



Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal 


Delhi State Legislative Assembly


The Delhi State Legislative Assembly serves as the democratic nucleus of the capital city, Delhi. Comprising elected members who represent various constituencies, the assembly plays a vital role in lawmaking, governance, and addressing the needs and aspirations of the diverse population. The Delhi State Legislative Assembly consists of a total of 70 members. These members, known as Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs), are elected through a democratic electoral process. The assembly's size has remained constant to ensure proportional representation and effective governance.

Delhi is divided into 11 districts, each with its distinct characteristics and demographics. These districts encompass a wide range of neighborhoods, residential areas, commercial centers, and cultural landmarks, representing the diverse fabric of Delhi. Each district in Delhi is represented by one or more MLAs, depending on the number of constituencies within the district. The distribution of constituencies is based on factors such as population density, geographical boundaries, and administrative considerations. The Election Commission of India, responsible for conducting elections in the country, determines the dates for the Delhi State Legislative Assembly elections. The Delhi State Legislative Assembly plays a vital role in strengthening local governance and representing the interests of the people at the state level. The MLAs, through their active participation, contribute to the development, welfare, and progress of their constituencies and the entire state of Delhi. The Delhi State Legislative Assembly, with its elected MLAs, ensures representation and governance in the capital city. 


History of Delhi Legislative Assembly


The Delhi Legislative Assembly was established in 1952 when the first elections were held after the reorganization of states in India. The assembly was formed to provide a platform for representatives to legislate and govern the capital city. During the initial years, Delhi legislative assembly elections saw intense competition between the Indian National Congress (INC) and the Janata Party (later known as the Bharatiya Janata Party, BJP). The INC held a dominant position, winning most of the elections during this period. Notable leaders like Sheila Dikshit of the INC and Madan Lal Khurana of the BJP emerged as prominent figures in Delhi's political landscape. The late 1990s and early 2000s marked a shift in Delhi's political dynamics. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) entered the scene, focusing on anti-corruption and pro-poor agendas. The Congress and the BJP continued to be major contenders, but the rise of AAP brought a fresh challenge to the established parties.

The 2013 Delhi Legislative Assembly elections witnessed a significant shift as the newly formed AAP, led by Arvind Kejriwal, made a remarkable debut. The party emerged as the second-largest party, winning 28 out of 70 seats, while the BJP won the most seats but fell short of a majority. However, the AAP formed a coalition government with outside support.

In the 2015 Delhi Legislative Assembly elections, the AAP achieved a sweeping victory, securing an overwhelming majority by winning 67 out of 70 seats. Arvind Kejriwal became the Chief Minister, leading a majority government. The BJP, which had been the main opposition, won three seats, while the INC failed to secure any. Since the 2015 victory, the AAP has remained the dominant force in Delhi's political landscape. The party's focus on governance, welfare initiatives, and populist measures has resonated with the electorate. 


Previous Legislative Assembly Election in Delhi


The 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly election was a highly anticipated event that captivated the attention of the nation. The election, held against the backdrop of intense political rivalries and ideological debates, witnessed the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) securing a resounding victory and reaffirming its position as the dominant political force in Delhi. The 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly election took place amidst a charged political atmosphere. The incumbent Aam Aadmi Party, led by Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, aimed to build upon their previous term's successes, focusing on issues such as education, healthcare, and public welfare. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), buoyed by its national dominance, sought to challenge the AAP's hold on Delhi, while the Indian National Congress (INC) also vied for relevance in the state.

The AAP focused on its track record of providing affordable electricity, improved healthcare, and quality education through initiatives like mohalla clinics and quality education reforms. The BJP campaigned on the themes of nationalism, security, and development, while the INC highlighted issues of unemployment and economic disparity.

The 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly election resulted in a resounding victory for the AAP. The party won 62 out of 70 seats, retaining a commanding majority in the assembly. The BJP managed to secure eight seats, while the INC failed to win any seats. The AAP's victory highlighted the electorate's endorsement of the party's governance model and the leadership of Arvind Kejriwal. Following the election results, Arvind Kejriwal assumed office as the Chief Minister of Delhi.



Upcoming Elections: More Articles