Your city's app

Upcoming Election in Meghalaya


Meghalaya stands as a testament to the rich cultural heritage and democratic ethos of the country. The state has a unique identity characterized by its scenic landscapes, diverse tribal communities, and vibrant political landscape. Elections form the cornerstone of India's vibrant democracy, allowing its citizens to exercise their fundamental right to vote and choose their representatives. Meghalaya Legislative Assembly Election can be held in 2028. The Meghalaya Legislative Assembly is the highest legislative body in the state. It comprises 60 elected representatives known as Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs). Meghalaya's political landscape is shaped by the presence of numerous political parties, each representing different ideologies and interests. The state is known for its diverse tribal communities, including the Khasi, Garo, and Jaintia tribes, which play a significant role in the electoral process. Political parties in Meghalaya often align themselves with specific tribal interests, reflecting the state's unique socio-cultural fabric.


Meghalaya 2023 Legislative Election Result


PartySeats ContestedSeats Won
National People's Party5726
United Democratic Party4612
All India Trinamool Congress565
Indian National Congress605
Voice of the People Party184
Bharatiya Janata Party602
Hill State People's Democratic Party112
People's Democratic Front92
Garo National Council20



Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma


Meghalaya State Legislative Assembly

The Meghalaya State Legislative Assembly serves as the principal legislative body in the state. Comprising 60 MLAs elected by the people of Meghalaya, it is responsible for enacting laws, deliberating policies, and overseeing the governance of the state. Meghalaya is divided into several districts, each possessing its own distinct cultural and geographical identity. These districts include East Khasi Hills, West Khasi Hills, Ri-Bhoi, South West Khasi Hills, West Jaintia Hills, East Jaintia Hills, West Garo Hills, East Garo Hills, South Garo Hills, North Garo Hills, and South West Garo Hills. The legislative assembly constituencies in Meghalaya are delineated based on these districts to ensure a fair representation of the diverse population.


History of Meghalaya legislative Assembly Election 

The Meghalaya Legislative Assembly elections have played a pivotal role in shaping the political landscape of the state, allowing its citizens to exercise their democratic rights and choose their representatives. The first-ever legislative assembly elections were held in 1972, marking a significant milestone in the state's political evolution. The elections resulted in the formation of the inaugural Meghalaya Legislative Assembly, comprising 60 Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs), who would represent the diverse interests of the people.

Over the years, Meghalaya witnessed the emergence of several political parties that played a pivotal role in the electoral landscape. The Indian National Congress (INC) was one of the prominent parties in the state, initially enjoying significant support. 

Meghalaya's political scenario is characterized by its diverse tribal communities, each with its distinct cultural identity and aspirations. Tribal representation has been a significant factor in the legislative assembly elections, with parties aligning themselves with specific tribal interests and concerns. The Garo, Khasi, and Jaintia tribes, among others, have actively participated in the electoral process.

Meghalaya has consistently witnessed commendable voter participation and high turnout during its legislative assembly elections. The Meghalaya legislative assembly elections have been instrumental in shaping the democratic landscape of the state, providing a platform for its citizens to participate in the governance and decision-making processes. 


Upcoming Elections: More Articles