Your city's app

Upcoming Election in Odisha


Odisha is known for its rich cultural heritage and diverse landscapes, and is also an active participant in the democratic process of India. The Odisha Legislative Assembly is the primary legislative body in the state, responsible for enacting laws and overseeing the governance of Odisha. Comprising elected representatives, known as Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs), it plays a pivotal role in the development and progress of the state. The assembly consists of 147 seats, with members elected through a democratic process to represent their respective constituencies. The assembly holds the executive accountable, ensuring transparency and promoting effective governance for the benefit of the people. The next election in Odisha is eagerly anticipated by both political parties and the electorate. The assembly elections are generally held every five years unless dissolved earlier. As per the constitutional provisions, the next election is expected to take place in the coming years, potentially in 2024 or 2025, depending on the completion of the current term. The upcoming election holds significant implications for Odisha's political landscape and the welfare of its citizens. 


Odisha 2019 Legislative Election Result

PartySeats ContestedSeats Won
Biju Janata Dal146112
Bharatiya Janata Party14623
Indian National Congress1389
Communist Party of India (Marxist)51
Bahujan Samaj Party1070



Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik


Odisha State Legislative Assembly


The Odisha State Legislative Assembly stands as a cornerstone of democracy, representing the diverse population and districts of Odisha. The Odisha State Legislative Assembly has 147 MLAs. The assembly holds the responsibility of enacting laws, discussing policies, and overseeing the governance of Odisha. MLAs are the elected representatives who champion the interests of their constituents in the Odisha State Legislative Assembly. Odisha comprises 30 districts, each with its unique characteristics, culture, and challenges. The Odisha election date holds immense significance as it determines the formation of the Odisha State Legislative Assembly. While the exact election date may vary, elections are generally held every five years unless dissolved earlier. The Odisha State Legislative Assembly plays a crucial role in shaping the destiny of the state and ensuring the representation of its diverse population. As the Odisha election date approaches, citizens must actively engage in the democratic process, stay informed about the candidates and their manifestos, and exercise their right to vote. 


History of Odisha Legislative Assembly


The Odisha Legislative Assembly elections have been pivotal moments in the democratic journey of the state, reflecting the will of the people and shaping the political landscape. The Odisha Legislative Assembly came into existence in 1952, following the implementation of the Constitution of India. The first elections held that year marked the beginning of democratic governance in the state, as voters exercised their franchise to elect their representatives. Over the years, Odisha's political landscape has witnessed the dominance of several political parties. The Indian National Congress (INC) held a significant stronghold in the initial years, but gradually, regional parties gained prominence. The Biju Janata Dal (BJD), founded by Biju Patnaik, emerged as a powerful force in Odisha politics, maintaining a stronghold in subsequent elections. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has also made notable strides, expanding its presence in recent years. In 2000, the BJD, under the leadership of Naveen Patnaik, formed its first government, ending the Congress party's long-standing rule. Since then, the BJD has retained power in subsequent elections, establishing itself as a dominant political force in the state. The emergence of regional parties like BJD and the rise of coalition politics have shaped the state's governance dynamics. The diverse electorate, comprising rural and urban populations, has contributed to vibrant political debates, ensuring the voices of all sections are heard.

The Odisha legislative assembly elections have been instrumental in shaping the political destiny of the state, reflecting the aspirations and choices of the people. As the state progresses, it is essential for citizens to actively engage in the democratic process, stay informed, and exercise their right to vote. 


Previous Legislative Assembly Election in Odisha

The 2019 Odisha Legislative Assembly election was a significant event in the political history of the state. It witnessed a fierce battle between political parties, the emergence of new alliances, and a mandate that shaped the course of Odisha's governance. The 2019 Odisha Legislative Assembly election took place against the backdrop of a long-standing rule by the Biju Janata Dal (BJD), led by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik. The BJD had been in power for nearly two decades, showcasing its influence and dominance in the state's political arena. However, the 2019 election posed a new challenge as opposition parties sought to challenge the incumbent government's grip on power.


The 2019 election witnessed a multi-cornered contest among several political parties, including the Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and the Indian National Congress (INC). The BJP, led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, launched an extensive campaign to secure a significant foothold in the state, while the Congress party aimed to regain lost ground. The election campaigns in 2019 focused on a range of issues, including rural development, healthcare, education, employment, and infrastructure. 

The 2019 election resulted in a significant victory for the incumbent Biju Janata Dal (BJD), led by Naveen Patnaik. The party secured a comfortable majority, winning 112 out of the 147 seats in the Odisha Legislative Assembly. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged as the principal opposition party, securing 23 seats, while the Indian National Congress (INC) faced a setback, winning only nine seats. The BJD's victory in the 2019 election reinforced Naveen Patnaik's leadership, allowing him to continue as Chief Minister for a fifth consecutive term. 


Upcoming Elections: More Articles