Your city's app

Upcoming election in Haryana


Haryana, one of India's vibrant northern states, is known for its rich history, diverse culture, and significant contributions to the country's economy. With its strong political presence and dynamic electoral landscape, Haryana holds a crucial place in India's democratic framework. The state's Legislative Assembly consists of 90 seats representing the various constituencies and districts within the state. Haryana has witnessed fierce political competition among major political parties, including the Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and Indian National Lok Dal (INLD), among others. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has significantly strengthened its position in Haryana over the years. 

The party has successfully capitalized on the leadership of prominent leaders like Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar. Their focus on development, welfare schemes, and infrastructural growth has garnered support from a large section of the electorate. The Indian National Congress (INC), historically a strong player in Haryana politics, has faced challenges in recent years. The party has been striving to regain its lost ground by highlighting issues concerning farmers, unemployment, and social justice. The Congress party has been actively trying to bridge the gap between various communities and address regional concerns. The Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) has also played a crucial role in Haryana's political arena. With their roots in the Jat community, INLD has focused on consolidating support from rural areas and highlighting agricultural concerns. The party has faced internal turmoil in recent years, impacting its overall political influence. It is anticipated that the next election in Haryana will take place in the coming years, potentially between 2024 and 2025. 


Haryana 2019 Legislative Election Result


PartySeats Won
Bharatiya Janata Party40
Indian National Congress31
Jannayak Janata Party10
Indian National Lok Dal1
Haryana Lokhit Party1
Bahujan Samaj Party0
Shiromani Akali Dal1



Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar


Haryana State Legislative Assembly


The Haryana State Legislative Assembly is the apex legislative body responsible for enacting laws and policies in the state of Haryana. The Haryana State Legislative Assembly comprises 90 members, each representing a specific constituency within the state's various districts. The 90 constituencies in the Haryana State Legislative Assembly spread across 22 districts. The assembly is responsible for enacting laws, approving budgets, and holding the government accountable for its actions. The members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) serve a five-year term, after which new elections are held. The legislators, also known as Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs). They represent their respective constituencies, address their grievances and demands, and participate in debates and discussions in the assembly. The Haryana State Legislative Assembly holds immense significance in shaping the state's political and developmental agenda. The next Haryana State Legislative Assembly Election will be held in 2024.


History of Haryana Legislative Assembly


The Haryana Legislative Assembly has witnessed a rich tapestry of electoral battles that have shaped the political landscape of the state. Haryana came into existence as a separate state on November 1, 1966, carved out of the bilingual Punjab state. The first elections to the Haryana Legislative Assembly were held in 1967, marking the beginning of a new chapter in the state's political history. The Indian National Congress (INC) emerged as the dominant force, securing a majority and forming the government under the leadership of Chief Minister Bansi Lal. For several years following its formation, the Indian National Congress (INC) maintained its stronghold over Haryana politics. Under leaders like Bansi Lal and Bhajan Lal, the Congress party enjoyed a significant influence, implementing policies centered on agriculture, rural development, and social welfare. However, in the 1980s and 1990s, the emergence of new political forces challenged Congress's dominance. The 1990s witnessed the rise of regional parties in Haryana's political landscape, challenging the traditional two-party system. The Indian National Lok Dal (INLD), led by Devi Lal's son Om Prakash Chautala, emerged as a formidable force, particularly with its focus on Jat community interests and rural development. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) also made significant inroads, forging alliances with regional parties and contesting elections in coalition. In the early 2000s, political alliances played a crucial role in shaping the outcomes of the Haryana Legislative Assembly elections. The Congress party, under the leadership of Bhupinder Singh Hooda, formed the government in 2005, securing a majority. However, in 2014, the BJP, led by Narendra Modi, made substantial gains, capitalizing on the "Modi wave" and forming a government with a clear majority.


Previous Legislative Assembly Election in Haryana 


The 2019 Haryana Legislative Assembly election was a closely fought battle between the incumbent Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Indian National Congress (INC). The election, held on October 21, 2019, saw a turnout of 68.47% and resulted in a hung assembly. The BJP, led by Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, contested 90 seats and won 40, emerging as the single-largest party. However, they fell short of a majority, necessitating the need for a coalition government. The Indian National Congress (INC), led by former Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, contested 90 seats and won 31. The Jannayak Janta Party (JJP), a regional party formed by former INLD leader Dushyant Chautala, emerged as a kingmaker, winning 10 seats. The newly formed party, which focused on regional development and Jat community interests, played a crucial role in government formation. After intense negotiations, the BJP formed a coalition government with the support of the JJP, with Manohar Lal Khattar continuing as the Chief Minister. Dushyant Chautala, the leader of JJP, was appointed as the Deputy Chief Minister. The coalition government was sworn in on October 27, 2019, with the support of 57 MLAs. In conclusion, the 2019 Haryana Legislative Assembly election was a closely contested battle, resulting in a hung assembly and the formation of a coalition government. 

Upcoming Elections: More Articles