Your city's app

State Legislative assembly election in Karnataka 

Karnataka is a state located in the southern part of India. The Karnataka Legislative Assembly is the unicameral legislature of the state of Karnataka. It is composed of 224 members, who are elected by the people of the state through election. The number of members in the Karnataka Legislative Assembly has increased over the years. When the assembly was first established in 1934, it had 120 members. This number was increased to 170 in 1957 and then to its current strength of 224. The last election for the Karnataka Legislative Assembly was held in 2018. The next Karnataka Legislative Assembly election will be held on 10 May 2023.


Karnataka Facts

Chief MinisterBasavaraj Bommai
Lok Sabha28 seats
Rajya Sabha12 seats
Legislative Assembly224 seat
Legislative Council75 seats
Karnataka area191,791 sq km
Karnataka population6,11,30,704* (as per 2011 census)
Major languageKannada
Capital of KarnatakaBangalore


Karnataka Government and politics


The government of Karnataka is composed of several bodies, including the state legislature, which is responsible for enacting laws and overseeing the work of the government. The Karnataka State Legislature is bicameral, consisting of two houses, the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council. The Legislative Assembly is the lower house of the state legislature. It is composed of 224 members. Karanataka Legislative Council is composed of 75 members. The tenure of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly is five years unless it is dissolved earlier by the Governor of Karnataka. If the assembly is dissolved before the completion of its term, fresh elections are held within six months. 


Karnataka legislative assembly


The Karnataka Legislative Assembly has a long and rich history, dating back to the pre-independence era when it was known as the Mysore Legislative Assembly. The first legislative assembly of Karnataka was established in 1934, during the British period. At that time, the state was known as the Princely State of Mysore, and the legislative assembly was known as the Mysore Legislative Assembly. The first session of the Mysore Legislative Assembly was organised on 18th July 1934, and it was inaugurated by the Maharaja of Mysore, Sri Jaya Chamaraja Wadiyar. The assembly had limited powers, and it was mainly responsible for passing budgets and financial bills. After India gained independence in 1947, the Mysore Legislative Assembly was replaced by the present-day Karnataka Legislative Assembly. The first session of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly was held on 18th May 1952, and it was inaugurated by the first Chief Minister of Karnataka, Sri K. Chengalaraya Reddy. The current Chief Minister of Karnataka is Basavaraj Bommai. 


History of Karnataka legislative assembly election


The Karnataka Legislative Assembly election is an important event that takes place every five years. The first Karnataka legislative assembly elections were organised in 1952. The Congress party won a majority of seats, and Sri K. Chengalaraya Reddy became the first Chief Minister of the Karnataka. In the initial years, the Congress party dominated state politics, winning most of the elections. However, in the 1980s, the Janata Party and the Janata Dal emerged as strong challengers to Congress, winning several elections.

In the 1990s, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) started making inroads into the state. Bjp formed the government for the first time in Karnataka in 2008, with B.S. Yediyurappa as the Chief Minister. The BJP continued to be in power until 2013 when the Congress party won the elections and formed the government.

The 2018 Karnataka Legislative Assembly elections were closely contested, with the BJP and Congress fighting hard to win the majority. In the end, no party was able to win the required number of seats to form the government on its own, and the Janata Dal (Secular) allied with the Congress party to form the government. The Congress party won 80 seats, while the BJP won 104 seats. The Janata Dal (Secular) won 37 seats, and allied with the Congress party to form the government. In 2019, several members of the Indian National Congress and the Janata Dal (Secular) resigned, leading to the decline of the coalition government. After this BJP formed the government in Karnataka, and BS Yeddyurappa became the Chief Minister. On 26 July 2021, Yeddyurappa resigned from the post of Chief Minister, and Basavaraj Bommai became Chief Minister.

Upcoming Elections: More Articles