Your city's app

Upcoming Elections in Rajasthan


Rajasthan, widely recognized as the 'Land of Kings,' holds a prominent place in India's cultural and historical heritage. This magnificent state is renowned for several attractions, including the majestic Thar Desert, the vibrant Pink City of Jaipur, and the captivating history that unfolds within its borders. The Rajasthan Legislative Assembly comprises 200 members, and elections are conducted across all these constituencies to elect Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs). The previous assembly elections in Rajasthan took place in 2018, and following the completion of the five-year term, the assembly elections are scheduled to be held once again in 2023. Rajasthan's forthcoming assembly elections in 2023 hold immense significance as the state's electorate will have the opportunity to shape the future course of governance and policies. Currently, the esteemed position of Chief Minister of Rajasthan is held by Ashok Gehlot, who has been serving in this capacity.


Rajasthan Legislative Assembly


During the years 1817-18, the British Empire established alliance treaties with numerous Rajasthani kings. Following India's independence from British rule, these princely states were integrated into the newly formed nation. The unification process of Rajasthan occurred in seven phases, spanning from March 1948 to November 1956. Rajasthan operates under a unicameral legislature known as the Vidhansabha, which consists of 200 members. Presently, the Indian National Congress holds power in the state, with Ashok Gehlot serving as the Chief Minister. The most recent assembly elections in Rajasthan took place in December 2018, with the elected members of the Legislative Assembly serving a term of five years. As the current assembly's tenure is nearing its end, assembly elections are scheduled to be held in 2023.


History of Rajasthan Legislative Assembly


The inaugural assembly elections in Rajasthan took place in 1952, marking the beginning of democratic governance in the state. The initial assembly comprised 160 members and served its term until 1952. Following the merger of Ajmer with Rajasthan State in 1956, the number of members increased to 190. Subsequently, the second Legislative Assembly (1957-62) functioned with a revised member count.

Over the years, the number of members in the Rajasthan Legislative Assembly has fluctuated. The fourth assembly (1967-72) consisted of 184 members, while from the sixth assembly (1977-80) onwards, the number of members increased to the current count of 200.

During the early years, the Indian National Congress (INC) dominated the Rajasthan Legislative Assembly elections, winning the first two elections in 1952 and 1957. The party maintained its hold on power in the state for several decades. However, the political landscape underwent a significant shift in 1990 with the emergence of regional parties such as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Janata Dal.

In 1993, the BJP formed the government in Rajasthan for the first time, with Bhairon Singh Shekhawat assuming the role of Chief Minister. The BJP secured victories in the subsequent two assembly elections in 1998 and 2003, led by Vasundhara Raje. In 2008, Ashok Gehlot from the Congress party was elected as the Chief Minister. The BJP regained power in the 2013 elections, and Vasundhara Raje once again took the oath as Chief Minister.

The most recent assembly elections in Rajasthan took place in 2018, witnessing a fierce contest between the BJP and the Congress party. Ultimately, the Congress emerged victorious, and Ashok Gehlot assumed office as the Chief Minister, leading the state government.


Previous Rajasthan Legislative Assembly Election


The 2018 Rajasthan Legislative Assembly election showcased a fierce competition between the two dominant political parties: the Indian National Congress (INC) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Both parties were determined to secure victory, aiming to claim the majority of the 200 assembly seats and gain the right to form the government.

In the run-up to the election, the political parties left no stone unturned in their campaign efforts. The 2018 election witnessed the emergence of prominent leaders from both the INC and the BJP. Ashok Gehlot, a veteran politician and former Chief Minister, took the helm for the Congress party, while Vasundhara Raje, the incumbent Chief Minister, led the BJP's campaign. Their leadership and political acumen played a crucial role in shaping the electoral dynamics and influencing voter sentiment.

After a nail-biting contest, the Indian National Congress emerged victorious in the 2018 Rajasthan Legislative Assembly election. The party secured a majority by winning 99 seats, while the BJP won 73 seats. The victory for the Congress marked a significant shift in power, leading to a change in the state's political leadership. The outcome of the 2018 Rajasthan Legislative Assembly election had far-reaching consequences for the state's governance and policies.


Voters of Rajasthan

In Rajasthan, there is a significant number of voters, with a total of 4,15,72,188 crore registered voters, out of which 1,96,74,585 crore are women. Additionally, more than ten percent of the population consists of individuals above the age of 65. The year 2023 is expected to witness the assembly elections in Rajasthan, where the current ruling party is the Congress, led by Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot. Throughout the Congress's tenure, the opposition BJP has consistently criticized the party's leadership and internal conflicts. However, despite these challenges, the Congress is nearing the completion of its term in the assembly. Nevertheless, there is an increased likelihood that the BJP may benefit from the existing tensions between Ashok Gehlot, Sachin Pilot, and other party leaders in the upcoming election.

According to you, which party among Indian National Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party, will form the government in the state? Let us know your opinion.


Upcoming Elections: More Articles