Your city's app

Upcoming Election in Gujarat


Gujarat, situated in western India, is renowned for its rich cultural heritage, economic prowess, and robust political landscape. The state has played a significant role in shaping India's political narrative and democratic fabric. The dates for the next election in Gujarat are determined by the Election Commission of India. As per constitutional provisions, state assembly elections typically take place every five years. However, for accurate and up-to-date information about the next election date in Gujarat, it is advisable to refer to official sources such as the Election Commission of India or the state government.

The Gujarat Legislative Assembly holds a crucial position in the governance and legislation of the state. Gujarat's political landscape is known for its vibrancy and diversity. The state has witnessed the prominence of various political parties, each with its own ideology and vision for Gujarat's development. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Indian National Congress (INC) have traditionally been the dominant players, engaging in fierce electoral battles. The political campaigns, rallies, and debates highlight the parties' manifestos and agendas, offering voters a choice based on diverse visions for Gujarat's future.


Gujarat 2022 Legislative Election Result


AlliancePartySeats ContestedSeats Won
NDABharatiya Janata Party182156
UPAIndian National Congress17917
Nationalist Congress Party20
NoneAam Aadmi Party1805
Bahujan Samaj Party1010
All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen130
Samajwadi Party171
Bharatiya Tribal Party260



Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendrabhai Patel


Gujarat State Legislative Assembly


Following India's independence in 1947, Gujarat, as a constituent state, embarked on its democratic journey. With the implementation of democratic principles, the people of Gujarat gained the right to elect their representatives and actively participate in the democratic process. The Election Commission of India has been entrusted with the responsibility of conducting free and fair elections, ensuring transparency and upholding the democratic values of the nation. Gujarat's political landscape has witnessed the emergence of various political parties and alliances, each leaving an indelible mark on the state's electoral history. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Indian National Congress (INC), and regional parties like the Gujarat Parivartan Party (GPP) have played significant roles in Gujarat's political narrative. Over the years, alliances and coalitions among these parties have shaped the electoral outcomes, giving rise to dynamic political equations within the state.
Gujarat's electoral history has been marked by several significant elections that have reshaped the state's political landscape. The emergence of the BJP as a dominant force in Gujarat politics, including the tenure of Narendra Modi as Chief Minister, has been a defining phase in the state's electoral journey. The Gujarat Legislative Assembly elections of 2012 and 2017, in particular, witnessed keenly contested battles, with outcomes that reflected the changing aspirations and political leanings of the electorate.



Upcoming Elections: More Articles