Your city's app

Upcoming Election in Tripura


Tripura, a state nestled in the northeastern part of India, is known for its captivating cultural heritage and scenic landscapes. At the heart of its democratic governance lies the Tripura State Legislative Assembly, an institution that plays a pivotal role in shaping the destiny of the state. Elections in India form the cornerstone of its democratic system, ensuring the representation and participation of its citizens in decision-making. Tripura, as an integral part of the Indian Union, follows the democratic principles enshrined in the Constitution of India. 

The Tripura State Legislative Assembly serves as the primary platform for the people of Tripura to voice their concerns, aspirations, and demands. Tripura comprises 60 elected representatives known as Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs). The election dates in Tripura are determined by the Election Commission of India in consultation with the state government. It can be held in 2028. The Tripura State Legislative Assembly elections hold immense significance for the state's governance and progress. The Tripura State Legislative Assembly stands as a pillar of democracy, ensuring that the voices and choices of the people resonate in the corridors of power.


Tripura 2023 Legislative Election Result


AlliancePartySeats ContestedSeats Won
NDABharatiya Janata Party5532
Indigenous People's Front of Tripura61
SDFCommunist Party of India (Marxist)4311
Indian National Congress133
All India Forward Bloc10
Revolutionary Socialist Party10
Communist Party of India10
NoneTipra Motha Party4213
All India Trinamool Congress280



Tripura Chief Minister Manik Saha


Tripura State Legislative Assembly


The Tripura State Legislative Assembly serves as the cornerstone of democratic governance in the northeastern state of Tripura, India. Comprised of elected representatives known as Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs), this assembly holds the responsibility of representing the diverse voices and aspirations of the people of Tripura. The Tripura State Legislative Assembly stands as a symbol of democratic governance, where elected representatives play a crucial role in shaping policies, enacting laws, and scrutinizing the functioning of the state government. 

The Tripura State Legislative Assembly consists of a total of 60 Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs). These MLAs represent the various constituencies across the state, including both rural and urban areas. 

Tripura is divided into eight districts, each with its distinct cultural heritage and administrative significance. The representation in the Tripura State Legislative Assembly is allocated based on these districts. 

 Elections are generally held at the end of the term or when the assembly is dissolved prematurely. The Election Commission announces the election dates well in advance, allowing political parties, candidates, and voters to prepare for the electoral process and exercise their democratic rights. The Tripura State Legislative Assembly, with its 60 Members of Legislative Assembly representing the diverse districts, serves as the bedrock of democratic governance in Tripura. 


History of Tripura Legislative Assembly


The legislative assembly elections in Tripura have played a significant role in shaping the democratic landscape of the state, providing a platform for the people to exercise their right to vote and choose their representatives. The democratic journey of Tripura began with its first legislative assembly elections in 1952, following the integration of the princely state with the Indian Union. These elections paved the way for democratic governance, allowing the people of Tripura to participate in the electoral process and elect their representatives. The election results marked a crucial turning point in the state's political landscape, providing a platform for diverse ideologies and visions for development.

The major political parties that have had a significant presence in Tripura's legislative assembly elections include the Communist Party of India (Marxist) [CPI(M)], the Indian National Congress (INC), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and the Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT), among others. These parties have played a crucial role in shaping the political discourse and policy landscape of the state.

 Tripura's electoral history has witnessed a triangular contest among the major political parties, with the CPI(M) and the INC historically dominating the electoral landscape. However, in recent years, the BJP has emerged as a strong contender, making significant inroads and eventually forming the government in the state. The changing political dynamics have brought new perspectives, ideas, and aspirations to the forefront, reshaping the electoral landscape and offering diverse choices to voters.

The electoral history of Tripura has not been without its challenges. The state has faced issues such as political violence, ethnic tensions, and security concerns during the election period. However, through the collective efforts of the Election Commission of India, state authorities, and various stakeholders, these challenges have been addressed, ensuring a peaceful and inclusive electoral process. Transformative moments, such as the peaceful transfer of power from one political party to another, have been witnessed, signifying the strength and resilience of Tripura's democratic fabric.

Upcoming Elections: More Articles