Your city's app

Upcoming Elections in Telangana


Telangana, a southern state in India, holds a significant place in the nation's political landscape. Telangana has emerged as a key player in shaping India's future. Elections in India provide a platform for citizens to exercise their right to vote and select their representatives. The Telangana Legislative Assembly, also known as the Vidhan Sabha, is the primary legislative body in the state. The Legislative Assembly consists of 119 members who are elected through a direct voting process. The leader of the majority party will become Chief Minister. The next election date for Telangana had not been officially announced. However, considering that the tenure of the current Legislative Assembly is five years, it is likely that the next elections would be held in 2023 or early 2024. 


Telangana 2018 Legislative Election Result


PartySeats Won
Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS)88
Indian National Congress (INC)19
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)1
Telugu Desam Party (TDP)2
All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM)7
Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)0
All India Forward Bloc (AIFB)1
Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPM)0
Communist Party of India (CPI)0
Independents (IND)1

Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao


Telangana State Legislative Assembly


The Telangana State Legislative Assembly, also known as Vidhan Sabha, is the supreme legislative body of the state. The Telangana election survey of 2023 serves as a tool for parties to understand the aspirations, concerns, and voting patterns of the citizens. These surveys help shape campaign strategies and policy agendas, allowing parties to align their objectives with the expectations of the electorate. Telangana comprises 33 districts, each with its own distinct characteristics, history, and challenges. The Telangana State Legislative Assembly stands as a symbol of democratic governance, empowering the people of Telangana to actively participate in the decision-making process. The Telangana election survey of 2023 provides valuable insights into the preferences and expectations of the electorate, guiding political parties in their campaign strategies. With its diverse districts and unique landscapes, Telangana showcases the rich tapestry of the state, with legislators representing their constituents' interests.

History of Telangana Legislative Assembly

The Telangana Legislative Assembly elections hold a significant place in the political history of the state. The formation of Telangana as a separate state in India marked a historic moment in 2014. It emerged as the 29th state of India, with Hyderabad as its capital. The first Telangana Legislative assembly elections were held in 2014, establishing the foundation of democratic governance in the newly formed state. In the 2014 Telangana Legislative Assembly Elections, Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) emerged as the majority party, led by K. Chandrashekar Rao, popularly known as KCR. KCR became the first Chief Minister of Telangana, leading the state toward a new era of development and progress. The second Telangana legislative assembly elections in 2018 saw the TRS aiming to retain power. The party's "Bangaru Telangana" (Golden Telangana) campaign resonated with the people, resulting in a resounding victory for the TRS. KCR assumed office as the Chief Minister for the second consecutive term, reaffirming his leadership in shaping Telangana's future.

Previous Legislative Assembly Election in Telangana


The last election for the Telangana Legislative Assembly, also known as the Vidhan Sabha, was held in 2018. The election was a crucial milestone for the state, determining the leadership and governance for the next term. Let's delve into the history and key highlights of the 2018 Telangana Legislative Assembly election. The election witnessed vigorous campaigning by all major parties. Rallies, public meetings, and door-to-door campaigns were organized to reach out to voters across Telangana. The voter turnout for the election was reported to be around 73%, reflecting the active participation of the electorate. The TRS emerged as the single largest party in the 2018 Telangana Legislative Assembly election, winning 88 out of the 119 seats. The party secured a comfortable majority, allowing K. Chandrashekar Rao to continue as the Chief Minister of Telangana for a second term. The INC managed to win 19 seats, emerging as the main opposition party in the state. The BJP secured only one seat in the assembly. While the TRS dominated the electoral landscape, the opposition parties made efforts to consolidate their support base. The 2018 Telangana Legislative Assembly election marked a significant milestone in the state's political history. The TRS's decisive victory allowed K. Chandrashekar Rao to continue as the Chief Minister, providing stability and ensuring the implementation of his party's agenda. The election showcased the democratic spirit of Telangana, with the electorate actively participating in shaping the future of their state through the ballot box.


List of the 119 seats of Legislative Assembly of Telangana


KamareddyNizamabad UrbanNizamabad RuralBalkondaKoratla
KukatpallyUppalIbrahimpatnamLal Bahadur NagarMaheshwaram
Jubilee HillsSanathnagarNampallyKarwanGoshamahal
Secunderabad CantonmentKodangalNarayanpetMahbubnagar
KollapurDevarakondaNagarjuna SagarMiryalagudaHuzurnagar
NakrekalThungathurthiAlairJangaonGhanpur Station
Warangal WestWarangal EastWaradhanapetBhupalpalle


Upcoming Elections: More Articles