Your city's app

Upcoming election in Jharkhand


Jharkhand, a state located in eastern India, has witnessed a fascinating political journey since its formation in the year 2000. With a rich cultural heritage, abundant mineral resources, and a diverse population, Jharkhand holds a significant place in the Indian political landscape. Elections play a pivotal role in Indian democracy, serving as a platform for citizens to express their opinions and choose their representatives. Jharkhand, created as a separate state from Bihar in 2000, has witnessed a dynamic political landscape. The state's history is deeply intertwined with the struggles and aspirations of various tribal communities and marginalized sections. Political parties have focused on addressing issues related to tribal rights, socio-economic development, and better governance. The Jharkhand Legislative Assembly is the primary legislative body in the state, consisting of elected representatives from various constituencies. The assembly has a total of 81 seats, and elections are held at regular intervals to determine its composition. The next election date for the Jharkhand Legislative Assembly has not been officially announced. However, state assembly elections in India typically take place every five years, subject to the discretion of the Election Commission of India. It is advisable to refer to the Election Commission's official announcements. Major political parties in Jharkhand include the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Indian National Congress (INC), and others.

The last election for the Jharkhand Legislative Assembly took place in 2019. The JMM, in alliance with the INC and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), emerged as the single-largest party, securing 30 seats out of the total 81. The BJP, which had won the previous election, secured 25 seats. Subsequently, the JMM-led alliance formed the government in the state, with Hemant Soren as the Chief Minister. 


Jharkhand 2019 Legislative Election Result


Jharkhand Mukti Morcha30
Bharatiya Janata Party25
Indian National Congress16
Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik)3
All Jharkhand Students Union2
Rashtriya Janata Dal1
Communist Party of India (Marxist–Leninist) Liberation1
Nationalist Congress Party1
All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen



Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren


Jharkhand State Legislative Assembly


The Jharkhand State Legislative Assembly is a vital democratic institution. The Jharkhand State Legislative Assembly consists of a total of 81 members. These members, known as Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs), are elected by the people of Jharkhand through a democratic electoral process. The assembly's size has remained constant since its formation, ensuring fair representation across the state's diverse regions. Jharkhand is divided into 24 districts, each with its own distinct identity and characteristics. These districts vary in terms of geography, culture, population, and development priorities. MLAs represent these districts and work towards addressing the unique challenges and aspirations of their constituents. The Jharkhand State Legislative Assembly, with its composition of elected MLAs from various districts, serves as the bedrock of Jharkhand's democracy. 


History of Jharkhand Legislative Assembly


The history of Jharkhand Legislative Assembly elections is a fascinating narrative that reflects the aspirations, struggles, and political evolution of the state. Jharkhand, a state carved out of Bihar on November 15, 2000, has a distinct cultural identity and a significant tribal population. The first Jharkhand Legislative Assembly elections were held in 2000, soon after the state's formation. The main contesting parties were the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Indian National Congress (INC), and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). Babulal Marandi of the BJP became the first Chief Minister of Jharkhand. However, due to political realignments and coalition shifts, the state saw multiple changes in leadership during this period. 

In the 2005 Jharkhand Legislative Assembly elections, the JMM emerged as the single-largest party. The Jharkhand Legislative Assembly elections in 2009 witnessed the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerging as the single-largest party. Arjun Munda of the BJP became the Chief Minister, leading a coalition government. During this period, the BJP's influence grew, and the party managed to stabilize its position in the state. In the 2014 Jharkhand Legislative Assembly elections, the BJP secured a majority on its own for the first time. Raghubar Das became the Chief Minister, leading the BJP government. 


Previous Legislative Assembly Election in Jharkhand 


The 2019 Jharkhand Legislative Assembly election was a significant event that reshaped the political landscape of the state. With multiple parties vying for power and a diverse electorate expressing their aspirations, the election witnessed the rise of new alliances and a shift in political dynamics. Prior to the 2019 Jharkhand Legislative Assembly election, the state witnessed a BJP-led government under Chief Minister Raghubar Das. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had enjoyed a dominant position in the state since 2014. However, discontentment among various sections of society, including tribal communities, contributed to a challenging electoral climate for the ruling party. The major political parties in the 2019 Jharkhand Legislative Assembly election included the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and others. The JMM, led by Hemant Soren, formed an alliance with the INC and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) to present a united front against the ruling BJP. The election campaign witnessed intense debates and discussions on issues such as tribal rights, agrarian distress, unemployment, infrastructure development, and social welfare. The 2019 Jharkhand Legislative Assembly election marked a significant turnaround in political fortunes. The JMM-Congress-RJD alliance secured a majority, winning a combined total of 47 seats out of the 81-seat assembly. The JMM emerged as the single-largest party with 30 seats, followed by the INC with 16 seats and the RJD with one seat. The BJP secured 25 seats, while smaller regional parties and independents won the remaining seats. Following the election results, the JMM-Congress-RJD alliance successfully formed the government in Jharkhand. Hemant Soren, the leader of the JMM, assumed the position of Chief Minister for the second time. 


Upcoming Elections: More Articles